Home / Featured / 10 ex governors to receive three star golden leadership honour

10 ex governors to receive three star golden leadership honour

*Goje, Nwachukwu, Mark, Nwobodo, Imoke top list

Ten ex- Governors in Nigeria have been slated for a Three-Star Golden Leadership honour by the Transparency Centre Network.

According to the Coordinator of the Centre, Comrade Umar Faruk, the Centre in collaboration with FCT Correspondents Chapel of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ) will be honouring the past Governors, both present and past serving Ministers and Senators of the Federal Republic of Nigeria who have distinguished themselves in the Leadership of the nation.

Comrade Faruk, who said that after careful observation and study of the leadership composition of the country, there are those who in their lifetime political endeavour served the nation in various capacities such as Governor, Minister, Senator in the National Assembly, noting that the positions are rare to come by.

Listing the expected honourees, Comrade Faruk said these 10 rare-gems are General Ike Nwachukwu (Rtd) who served the nation as Military Governor of Imo State, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Senator represented Abia North Senatorial District

Also in the list is a serving Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Dr Chris Ngige, who also served the nation as the Executive Governor of Anambra State and Senator representing Anambra Central Senatorial District.

Among those to be honoured also include the immediate past Senate President, Senator David Mark who is still representing Benue South Senatorial District in the National Assembly and had served the nation as Military Administrator, Niger State and Minister of Communications during the Military era.

Senator Liyel Imoke, the immediate past Governor of Cross River state is among those to be honoured. He was a senator represented Cross River Central Senatorial District during the ill-fated third Republic and later Minister of Power and Steel. Included in the list is Dr Sam Omiyi Egwu of Ebonyi State, who had served the country as Executive Governor of Ebonyi State, Minister of Education and today still serving as the Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, representing Ebonyi North Senatorial District.

Among the 10 distinguished leaders is Senator Jim Ifeanyichukwu Nwobodo who served the country as Executive Governor of old Anambra State, Minister of Youths and Sports during the Military regime and a front line Senator represented Enugu East Senatorial District.

Senator Danjuma Goje who occupied the position of Executive Governor of Gombe State also qualified to be honoured, having served the country as a Minster of Power and Steel and still a Senator in the National Assembly, representing Gombe Central Senatorial District.

The Former Minister of Defence, Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso will be among the retinue of Three Star Golden Leaders in Nigeria. Kwankwaso was a former Deputy Speaker in the National Assembly, Executive Governor of Kano State, Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and today a Senator representing Kano Central District.

Senator Mohammed Adamu Aliero had served the nation meritoriously as FCT Minister, Executive Governor of Kebbi State and toady  he is a serving Senator representing Kebbi Central Senatorial District.

The last but not the least is a two time Executive Governor of Nasarawa State, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, two time Senator representing Nasarawa West Senatorial District and a former Minister of State, Ministry of Works and Housing.

Adding his voice, the General Secretary of the Centre, Anayo Okafor emphasized that the event is going to be a Maiden Quadrennial Honour and that it is the first of its kind holding since the creation of the country, Nigeria.

Mr Okafor said that it is going to be once in every four years considering that it is a rare honour for political leaders in the country, adding that in view of that, a book chronicling the activities of these Golden Leaders will be presented during the occasion.

He used the medium to hint that in the next year first quarter the Centre with African Leaders will honour the President of the country, President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR), and the former Head of State President Olusegun Obasanjo (GCFR) for their outstanding positions and meritorious services to the nation.

About GongNews

Nigeria's most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

Fred Edoreh, The Patriot's Thoughts...Lagos sports

Uneasy calm in Lagos sports circles

*Sports in no more for poor and inner city kids Inauguration of the Governing Board …