Home / Featured / Alhassan Ibrahim, Abdu Maikaba named LBA winners

Alhassan Ibrahim, Abdu Maikaba named LBA winners

Akwa United duo of Alhassan Ibrahim and Abdu Maikaba have been named League Bloggers Awards (LBA) Player and Manager for April respectively following their outstanding performances in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) in the month under review.
Alhassan emerged winner of the player’s award for April after seeing off challenges from the trio of Chinedu Udechukwu of Katsina United, Nasarawa United defender Yinka Onaolapo and Lobi Stars forward Anthony Okpotu.
The Akwa United attacking midfielder accounted for four of his team’s seven goals scored in April and also capped his outing for last month with a fine assist that helped the Uyo club to a 1-0 win at four-time Nigerian champions Kano Pillars.
Akwa United made it a clean sweep in April as Maikaba claimed the manager’s prize ahead of Plateau United’s Kennedy Boboye, Kabiru Dogo of Nasarawa United and FC Ifeanyiubah’s Ghanaian coach Yaw Preko.
Maikaba led his team to a 100 per cent record in April – a feat only achieved by Boboye in the same month, though the Akwa United manager edged his Plateau United counterpart by three points.
The former Wikki Tourists head coach masterminded wins for Akwa United from the dugout against 3SC, MFM and at Kano Pillars.
The next LBA monthly award will look at the performances of player and coaches in the NPFL for the month of May.
January 2017 Winners
Player: Stephen Odey (MFM)
Manager: Kennedy Boboye (Plateau Utd)
February 2017 Winners
Player: Sunday Adetunji (Abia Warriors)
Manager: Ladan Bosso (El-Kanemi Warriors)
March 2017 Winners
Player: Stephen Odey (MFM FC)
Manager: Fidelis Ilechukwu (MFM FC)

About GongNews

Nigeria’s most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

Nigeria's Super Eagles B team...drew with Rwanda

CHAN: Nigeria secures poor draw against Rwanda

*Libya leads group with three points By Olayinka Elebute Nigeria’s overrated Super Eagles Team B …