Home / Featured / Almat zaps Trade Mark to win 2017 Abuja Unity Polo tournament

Almat zaps Trade Mark to win 2017 Abuja Unity Polo tournament

*Alhaji Umar Shinkafi honoured with trophy

Almat Group whipped Trade Mark 7 to 3½ in a one-sided encounter to emerge winners of the President’s Cup at the just concluded 2017 Abuja Unity Polo tournament.

The tournament which galloped off with a colorful opening ceremony on Tuesday ended on Sunday.

The match played at the Abuja Guards Polo field which was the tournament’s biggest prize saw half a goal awarded to Trade Mark to level the team’s handicap.

Trade Mark who were looking to win the cup for the very first time in the history of the tournament boasted a very formidable quartet of Aliyu Umar (0), Nasiru Lukat (+1 ), Abba Dantata (+2) and Jamilu Mohammed (+3).

But, Almat Group who had also not won the title before had other plans of their own, fielding a much stronger and experienced side that included the Badamasi brothers, Abdulmalik (+3), Idris (+3), Nura Suleiman (+1) as well as Abubakar Jugunu (+1).

They were on the front foot right from the blast of the umpire, Mustapha Junaidu’s whistle till the end of proceedings and deservedly finished with a resounding victory, thrashing Trade Mark 7 to 3½ at the end of the fourth and final chukka.

Also, the Abuja Guards polo club on Sunday honoured the late Alhaji Umaru Shinkafi  (Mafaran Sokoto), father to the First Lady of Kebbi State, Hajia Zainab Bagudu at the just concluded 2017 Abuja Unity Polo tournament.

As an honour to the late Shinkafi, a Cup was played in memory of the great leader of Sokoto.

The late Alhaji Umar Shinkafi Memorial (the Marafan Sokoto) Cup was won by Abuja Guards, while Tropicalsno finished as runners up.

Hajia Bagudu was also honoured with an award for her unflinching and unwavering support to the Abuja Guards Polo Club over the years.

Also, Max Air defeated Iyatu Farms 5 to 5½ goal to emerge champions of the Legislative Shield in a keenly contested match.

The CECCC Beginners Cup was won by Polo Babies, while the Polo Toddlers finished as runners up.

The late Alhaji Labaran Kago Memorial Cup was won Max Air, while Iyatu Farms finished as runners up.

The Guards Challenge was won by ASI Polo team, while Alhusna Travels were runners up of the cup.

The Guards Brigade Trophy was won by Bauchi M.A., while AGROTEX Polo team finished as runners up.

The Most Improved Player Award went to Shehu Runz of Alhusna Travels.

The wife of the Kebbi State governor, Her Excellency, Dr.Zainab Bagudu Shinkafi, Minister of State for Aviation,Senator Hadi Sirika, the CECCC Executive Director, Mr Kelvin Lee, the Bauchi State Governor, his excellency Mohammed Abubakar, the Zamfara State Governor, Governor Abdulaziz Yari, Former Governor of Kaduna State, Dr Ramalan Yero,  were among the high profile dignitaries who graced the tournament’s closing ceremony.

About GongNews

Nigeria’s most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

Nigeria's Super Eagles B team...drew with Rwanda

CHAN: Nigeria secures poor draw against Rwanda

*Libya leads group with three points By Olayinka Elebute Nigeria’s overrated Super Eagles Team B …