Budget: BPE, FIRS, NAN others get two weeks Senate ultimatum

Nigerian Senate has warned Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) of government to, as a matter of urgency, submit their budget proposals to the National Assembly, in accordance with provision of section 21 of the fiscal responsibility.

The lawmakers issued the MDAs two weeks ultimatum at the plenary on Wednesday, following a motion moved by Deputy Senate Leader, Senator Bala Ibn Na’Allah, who decried the non-compliance with Section 21 of the Fiscal Responsibility Act by government agencies.

The Red Chamber equally barred the affected MDAs from capital expenditure until their budgets are passed by the legislature.

He observed that non-compliance to the Fiscal Responsibility Act constituted abuse of power and economic sabotage aimed at frustrating the current economic measures to address the economic recession in the economy.

Other lawmakers in their submissions raised concerns that the Fiscal Responsibility Commission was failing in its responsibility through complacency in the execution of its mandate.

The President of the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, ruled on the motion and decried the non-compliance with Section 21 of the Fiscal Responsibility Act by government agencies.

The agencies concerned are the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASEI), Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA), Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC), National Maritime Authority (NMA), Raw Materials Research and Development Council (RMRDC) and National Sugar Development Council (NSDC)

Also on the list are, Nigerian Postal Service (NPS), Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), Nigerian Tourism Development Corporation (NTDC), National Communications Commission (NCC), National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC), Nigerian Customs Service (NCS) and National Broadcasting Commission (NBC).

Others are National Insurance Commission (NIC), News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Nigerian Copyrights Commission (NCC), Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC), Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), Nigerian Immigration Service (NIS), Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) and Radio Nigeria, Federal Housing Authority (FHA).

On the list also include, Nigerian Television Authority (NTA), National Automotive Design and Development Council (NADDC), Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority (NNRA), National Business and Technical Examination Board (NABTEB), Federal Mortgage Bank, National Environmental Standards and Regulations Enforcement Agency (NESREA), Industrial Training Fund (ITF), Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC), Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), as well as Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority (OGZFA)


Facebook Comments