Home / Featured / Morocco is first CHAN host to win trophy

Morocco is first CHAN host to win trophy

*The many firsts of Morocco comes up again

By Olayinka Elebute

Morocco is first host of the CHAN championship to win the trophy. As the fifth hosts, they not only won but won with a 4-0 margin to do what previous hosts – Cote d’Ivoire (2009), Sudan (2011), South Africa (2014) and Rwanda (2016) – could not do.

In the same vein, Sunday was the first time a previous holder of the more prestigious Africa Cup of Nations won the less important African Nations Championship. Its only Africa Cup of Nations title was 42 years ago at Ethiopia 1976.

They were the first African side after Egypt in 1934 to get through to the FIFA World Cup finals through the qualifying series. This the country achieved in 1970 after upstaging Nigeria and Sudan in the triangular last qualifying stage.

When Morocco held Bulgaria to 1-1 draw at Mexico 1970, it became the first African side not to lose a World Cup match. Back in Mexico in 1986, Morocco became the first African team to top a World Cup group and to cross to the next round in a group that had strong European teams like England, Portugal and Poland.

Morocco currently in contention to host the 2026 World Cup was the first African country to host a FIFA Congress when the 55th ordinary congress held in Marrakesh in 2005.

The North African country added another first by being the only African side to have hosted in the FIFA Club World Cup in 2014.

About GongNews

Nigeria's most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

IGP Ibrahim Idris...pupils die

Two pupils die after birthday party gift in Abuja

*Questions about school safety in Abuja rises Police in the FCT have confirmed the death …

Leave a Reply