Home / Featured / Nigerian Taekwondo Opens championship here

Nigerian Taekwondo Opens championship here

*NSCDC retains Korea Ambassador Cup

*Taekwondo Referees for training session

Long awaited Taekwondo competition, Nigerian Open, is set to debut as from this weekend, one week after Abuja stood still for Korean Ambassador’s Cup which drew over 160 Athletes, watched by a teeming crowd.

The Nigeria Open event which is fully bankrolled by the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation (NTF) is beginning to witness array of participants that are already registering via the official online control centre.

NTF President, Mrs Elizabeth Binga who maintained that nothing short of better outing is guaranteed at the upcoming competition which would be preceded by a two-day training sessions for all Taekwondo Referees in Nigeria.

“This administration is focused on carrying everybody along because of our vision of ensuring diverse grassroots development. Participating in 2020 Tokyo Olympics is our target. All these programmes are meant to fortify our athletes, coaches and Referees.

“We began by training coaches immediately we came on board. Why we decided to start with coaches is that quality athletes can only be guaranteed when we have good coaches. The impact is already being felt and in few years to come, the realisation will be evident.”

Meanwhile, para-military organisation, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corp (NSCDC) emerged champion a record fifth time at the end of just concluded Korean Ambassador Championship in Abuja.

Team NSCDC parading mostly National Taekwondo athletes swept eight medals comprising of three gold, one silver and four bronze.

A Lagos-based Taekwondo club, Q-Madi got three medals including one gold, one silver and one bronze while visiting Niger Republic National team snapped up one gold and one bronze. One of their trail-blazers, Djibo Kadri who actually beat his Nigeria opponent, Paul Ogundele from Kebbi was crowned as most valuable athlete of the tournament.

For the female, Uzoamaka Otuadinma of NSCDC picked the best athlete trophy just as her team dominated as the best through-out.

However, Kano, Plateau and Lagos teams scooped gold medals each. Sekinat Adebayo, Ifeoma Dennis and Shola Olowookere were instrumental.

Little known Elizabeth Anyanacho and Joy Ikpeamaeze of FCT registered their names on the medals’ table and made podium dance.

About GongNews

Nigeria's most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

Abubakar Atiku Bagudu Kebbi State Governor...budget

Kebbi Gov signs 2018 budget into law

*This will be budget of transformation Governor Abubakar Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State on Friday …