Home / Featured / Ogunjobi, Ladipo, Ikpea, Ogunnowo storm Ado Ekiti for Phoenix Cup final

Ogunjobi, Ladipo, Ikpea, Ogunnowo storm Ado Ekiti for Phoenix Cup final


*Emure, Ilawe battle for N.17m

Phoenix Ekiti State Secondary Schools Cup final is set as expected as arrangements have been concluded ahead of what would be the most exciting School Sports final.

The final of the maiden edition will be decided Friday evening at the Kayode Oluyemi Stadium, Ado Ekiti with Emure Model High School battling United High School, Ilawe Ekiti.

Phoenix Athletic Sports Limited, the organisers of the tournament, have offered assurances of a memorable experience to the finalists, fans and top football administrators that will be in Ado Ekiti for the finals of the tournament.

Emure Model High School, Emure Ekiti and United High School, Ilawe Ekiti will battle for a grand cash prize of N175, 000 in Friday’s Phoenix Ekiti Secondary Schools Cup final at the Kayode Oluyemi Stadium, Ado Ekiti.

Emure and United booked the final ticket after they defeated Ayo Daramola High School, Ijan Ekiti and Ogangamodu Grammar School, Ido Ekiti respectively in a thrilling semi-final ties.

The competition is powered by Phoenix Athletic Sports Limited to fish out exceptional talents in Ekiti State.

According to Phoenix Chief Executive Officer, Bayo Olanlege a total sum of N175,000 (One Hundred and Seventy Five Thousand) is at stake for the Schools that made the finals.

“The winner of the tournament will take home the sum of N100,000 and Gold-plated giant trophy. Gold-plated medals will also be presented to the players and officials of the winning School too.

“Runner-up school will go home with a sum of N75,000 a silver trophy and medals too, while the third place School will get N50, 000.”

There are also prizes lined up for the Highest Goal Scorer and Most Valuable Player.

Former Secretary General of Nigeria Football Federation, Chief Taiwo Ogunjobi, together with prominent football administrators, coaches, club owners and top journalists will grace the finals among who are the President General Nigeria Football Supporters Club, Dr. Rafiu Ladipo, NFF Executive Member, Otunba Dele Ajayi and Chairman Nigeria Football Supporters Club, Reverend Samuel Ikpea.

Others include the Executive Secretary of Nigeria Nationwide League One, Olusola Ogunnowo, NFF Assistant Technical Director, Siji Lagunju, NFF administrative staff, Tolu Abe, ODSFA boss, Prince Dapo Ajibade, Business mogul and Phoenix ASC Vice Chairman Oluwaseyi Motunrayo, Bayo Badmos, Mrs. Folasade Akinrinmola, Engineer Femi Fateru and Osun United Media Manager, Tunde Shamsudeen among others.


About GongNews

Nigeria’s most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

Nigeria's Super Eagles B team...drew with Rwanda

CHAN: Nigeria secures poor draw against Rwanda

*Libya leads group with three points By Olayinka Elebute Nigeria’s overrated Super Eagles Team B …