Home / Featured / Secondus is PDP National Chairman

Secondus is PDP National Chairman

*11 Governors backed him to win

*Fayose advises losers to be gallant sportsmen

Peoples Democratic Party  (PDP) Saturday elected Prince Uche Secondus as its national chairman at the National Convention held at the Eagles’ Square in Abuja, the nation’s capital.

Gabriel Suswam presents certificate of clearance to Prince Uche Secondus
Gabriel Suswam presents certificate of clearance to Prince Uche Secondus

Secondus was a former Deputy National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party. The result of the election was declared in the early hours of Sunday.

Secondus received strong backing of the 11 governors elected on the platform of the party, as they stood in solidarity with him throughout the exercise.

Governors of Rivers and Ekiti States, Messrs Nyesom Wike and Ayodele Fayose, actively mobilised support openly for the new party chair.

Secondus was declared National Chairman of the party after polling over 2000 votes at the party’s convention in Abuja. Result was announced in the early hours of Sunday.

Secondus’ closest contender was Prof. Tunde Adeniran who garnered 230 votes. While chief Raymond Dokpesi got 66 votes, Prof Taoheed Adedoja had no vote.

Prince Uche Secondus PDP National chairman
Prince Uche Secondus PDP National chairman

Similarly, Umar Ibrahim has emerged winner of the National Secretary of the party with 1549 votes to defeat Abubakar Mustapha who polled 371 votes and Nenadi Usman who got 287 votes.

Senator Gamawa Babawo Garba also emerged winner of the Deputy National Chairman of the party after polling 1316 votes to beat six other contenders.

Meanwhile, there was a mild drama at the Eagle Square when Chief Raymond Dokpesi abandoned his Edo State stand and walked to the Rivers State stand to sit with Secondus as the results of the election were being awaited.

Fayose advises losers to accept results: Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose, has asked those who contested the PDP national chairmanship seat but lost to Secondus, to accept defeat in good faith.

Fayose also said he had no regret, canvassing support for aspirants on the Unity list.

He insisted that some people kicked against the list because they did not win the election.

He said, “Anyone who will contest the result of this election at the court of law is an enemy of the party. It is not good to be a bad loser. If you did not win, just take it in good faith and support the winner”

www.gongnews.net recalled that Saturday morning there was a plethora of protests manifesting in withdrawals. It was led by Chief Olabode George, then Otunba Gbenga Daniel, not too long, two other withdrawals by former Oyo State governor, Rashidi Ladoja and Chief Jimi Agbaje came.

However, Chief Raymond Dokpesi and Prof Tunde Adeniran have both rejected the outcome of the process.

Certificate of clearance process: The position of the aspirants not to go by consensus became very obvious by Thursday, as they took turns to collect their certificates of clearance from the Patrick Okowa-led convention planning committee at the party’s national secretariat in Abuja, after having been cleared by the screening committee.

Chairman of the screening committee, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, lauded the conduct of the chairmanship hopefuls, stating that with their clearance, the party was hopeful of a credible, competitive convention devoid of rancour.

Candidates cleared to contest the party’s national chairmanship position include Prince Uche Secondus, Professors Tunde Adeniran and Taoheed Adedoja.

The candidates that contested: Others are Chief Olabode George, High Chief Raymond Dokpesi, Senator Rashidi Ladoja, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, Chief Jimi Agbaje and Aderemi Olusegun.

About GongNews

Nigeria's most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

IGP Ibrahim Idris...pupils die

Two pupils die after birthday party gift in Abuja

*Questions about school safety in Abuja rises Police in the FCT have confirmed the death …