10 Edition Power Forward Champions:GSS Apo And GSS Zone 3 Crowned Champions


The 10th edition of the Power Forward Finals concluded on Thursday, Sept. 21, with GSS Apo (“Apo Raptors”) winning the boys’ championship game and GSS Zone 3 (“Wuse Fever”) being crowned this year’s girls’ champions at the M.K.O. Abiola National Stadium in Abuja.

On the final day of the basketball tournament, which ran from June through September, GSS Apo defeated GSS Zone 3 in the boys’ division, and GSS Zone 3 beat Total Child Model School in the girls’ division to claim their respective championships.

This season featured 30 boys’ teams and 12 girls’ teams, with the top eight girls’ teams and top 10 boys’ teams advancing to the playoffs, and the top two girls’ and boys’ playoff teams advancing to the Power Forward Finals.

As part of the Finals, the participants took part in a malaria jeopardy game and had the opportunity to utilise malaria testing stations set up outside the stadium. The three-day 10th-anniversary celebrations of the Power Forward program – a youth development program established in 2013 to provide life skills and public health awareness, malaria prevention workshops and basketball development programming to more than 250,000 boys and girls across 40 schools in Abuja – also featured a Jr. NBA clinic for 1,200 children ages 16 and under and an alumni summit in the presence of 2015 NBA champion Festus Ezeli and 2015 AfroBasket champion Olumide Oyedeji.

About Editor1

Check Also

Igoche Mark Hails Rivers Hoopers for Picking BAL Playoffs Ticket

  The Initiator of the Mark D’ Ball Basketball Championship, Mr.Igoche Mark has congratulated Nigerian …