Dala Tennis: Michael, Otu, Babalola move into quarterfinals

Henry Atseye one of Nigeria's players...Dala enters tougher, tighter stages
Henry Atseye one of Nigeria’s players…Dala enters tougher, tighter stages

Top seed Moses Michael moved to the quarterfinals of the Dala Hard Court tennis championship holding in Kano with a 6-3, 6-4 win over Clifford Enosoregbe.

Moses, who was a finalist last year, showed his determination to go all the way as hitting series of winners against his opponent who was Nigeria’s best performer at the Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis championship last month.

Sylvester Emmanuel also stayed on course to defend the title he won last year as he stopped the great run of youngster, Christopher Bulus of the Aces Tennis Academy with a commanding 6-2, 6-2 triumph.

“I know it will be very difficult for me to beat him and I’m not disappointed rather I’m very happy with my performance and I will try to build on this,” Bulus said.

Abdulmumin Babalola and Thomas Otu are also through to the quarterfinals. Babablola bagged a 6-2, 6-3 win over Chima Michael while Otu the 2015 CBN Open champion, defeated Michael Michael 6-2, 6-4 as he struggled to regain the number one spot he held until this year.

In the women’s singles, defending champion Christy Agugbom was ruthless in her 6-0, 6-0 whitewash of Loveth Donatus while 2015 finalist, Sarah Adegoke came from a set down to beat Ronke Akingbade 4-6, 6-2, 6-0 to also move to the semi-finals.

Like Adegoke, Patience Onebamhon was made to work off her socks as she needed a final set tie break to beat Christy Nwankwo 6-2, 5-7, 7-6

In the Mens’ Doubles, Albert Bikom and Sunday Maku defeated Joseph Imeh and Michael Olajinbiti 6-2, 6-7, 10-2 while Shehu Lawal teamed up with Abdulmumin Babalola to beat the pair of Yakubu and Ibrahim 6-4, 6-1.


About GongNews

Nigeria's most authoritative online newspaper with a deep reach for the Defence of the truth at all times.

Check Also

Akwa Ibom State FA holds Solemn Assembly

By Uwem Ekoh     .. Declares commitment to grassroots football development. The Board of …