The volleyball players with some of the orphans

Ekiti Assembly Elects New Speaker


Abiola Jason


The member representing Ikole Constituency, Chief Gboyega Aribisogan has been elected the new speaker of the Ekiti House of Assembly.

Aribisogan, who is a two-term lawmaker,  was elected at plenary on Tuesday, having polled 15 votes to defeat Olubunmi Adelugba (Emure Constituency) who got 10 votes.

He replaced the former Ekiti State Assembly speaker, Funminiyi Afuye, who died on October 19, 2022, after suffering cardiac arrest.

At the plenary, Tajudeen Akingbolu (Ekiti West 1) nominated Aribisogan and the nomination was seconded by Adegoke Olajide (Efon Constituency), while Bode Oyekola (Ekiti West 2) nominated Olubunmi Adelugba and seconded by Ojo Martin (Ijero Constituency).
Aribisogan was sworn in as speaker by the clerk of the house, Mr Tola Esan, following his victory in the election.

In his reaction, the new speaker expressed gratitude to his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him.

Aribisogan said, “I pledge to discharge my duties to the best of my ability and protect the constitution of the country and standing rules of the House of Assembly. I promise to remain committed to my duties as speaker of this honourable assembly.”

About Editor

Check Also

FG Rolls Out Measures To Strengthen The Economy

By Our Reporter     The Honourable Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the …