FG Inaugurate Board Members Of Paralympic Committee



By Our Reporter

The Honourable Minister of Sports and Youth Development, Mr Sunday Dare, has inaugurated the newly elected Board Members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) with a charge to ensure inclusiveness for the purpose of maintaining podium performances in all competitions across the globe.

During the inauguration ceremony which held today at the Steven Keshi Stadium Asaba, Delta State; Dare expressed optimism that with the calibre of Members elected, Nigeria is sure to record more accolades through its paralympians.

According to him, Para-Sports is one of the games that has lifted the nation’s flag high in global events and as such, the athletes need encouragement and support to enhance their performances

He therefore called on the new Board to bring their wealth of experience and knowledge to bear in ensuring a proper administration of the sporting activities of Paralympians in the country

While congratulating the new Board Members on their election, he thanked the Delta State Government for agreeing to host the Congress.

Speaking earlier, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, Alhaji Ismaila Abubakar assured the new Board Members that the Ministry will continue to provide an enabling environment for the realisation of the present Administration’s policy as it affects Paralympians

Represented by the Director, Federation, Elites and Athletes Development (FEAD), Dr Simon Ebhojaiye, the Permanent Secretary therefore charged them to justify the confidence reposed on them by the electorate and members

Responding, the newly elected President, Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN), Mr. Odebode Sunday, assured that under their tenure, Nigeria is sure to witness more podium appearances from the athletes.

The Newly elected Board Members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) are as follows.

Odebode Sunday – President
Shodipo Ayinde – 1st Vice President
Ugwunwa Flora – 2nd VP & Female Athlete Representative
Isah Suleiman – Secretary General
Agbado Douglas – Asst. Secretary General
Ettington Rafiu Olawale – Treasurer
Asaba Pius Idowu – South West
North East – Suspended
Ezeikpe Chinedu – South East
Adisa Lukman Abefe – North Central
Bungon Dauda – North West


About Editor

Check Also

J60 ITF World Tennis Tour Reaches Round Of 16 Stages

  The ongoing International Tennis Federation (ITF) World Tennis Tour Junior J60 in Abuja on …