National Division 1 Volleyball League:  Kada Kings, Kwara United Emerged Champions

By Our Reporter

Kada Kings of Kaduna state and Kwara United VC have emerged winner of the male and female category of the National Volleyball Division One League.

The 2021 National Division 1 League played at the indoor of the package B of the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja came to an end in style as Kwara United ended the unbeaten run of Kada Kings 3-2 (13-25, 24-26, 25-21, 25-21, 15-13).

The Head Coach of Kada Kings of Kaduna, David Jonathan said his players were carried away with the two first sets they won.

“Kudos to Kwara United the really fought well to win the game, this is the only one match we lost in the league with that we are still the winner.

“My boys did well in all their matches, now we need to start preparing for premier immediately,” he said.

Meanwhile, the coach of Kwara United VC, Adewale Gbadamosi said he is happy that they won the last match against Kada Kings.

“People have been calling Kada Kings unbearable so we wanted to prove them wrong by defeating them which is what we did.

“My boys were determined to win this match and they did. We camp for one month training morning and evening, my players were fit for the league.

“We will go back home and fortify the team with two to three players ahead of the premier league next year,” he said.

In the female category, only two teams feature Zamfara Queens and Kwara United VC babes.

Kwara United defeated Zamfara Babes 3-0 (25-17 25-20 25-23) to emerge champion of the female category.

In the female league , Kwara United female team, won the league, with prize winning N300,000 while Zamfara Queens with second position received a prize winning of N250, 000.

In male category Kada Kings finished first with a prize of N400, 000; Kwara United male team finished second with a prize winning of N300,000, the third position Wikki Spikers of Bauchi 250,000.

Kada Kings finished first position with total of 40 , Kwara United finished second total of 33points, Wikki Spikers of Bauchi finished third with 31 points, Sparkans VC of Yola fourth with 27 points.

A total of 10 teams are participating in the league, eight male teams and two female teams.

They are Kada Kings of Kaduna , Wikki Spikers of Bauchi , Kwara United, ABM of Kastina, Oluyole Spikers of Oyo, Spartans Spikers of Yola, Caliphate Spikers of Sokoto and Equity Spikers of Kebbi are the men’s team.

The only two female teams are Kwara United and Zamfara Babes.good

About Editor1

Check Also

Abuja Veterans Tournament:Abuja All Stars pip USF By Lone Goal

  It was all glitz, glamour and soccer artistry in display at the second edition …