Ondo Govt Create 33 Local Council Devt. Areas

By Our Reporter


***Approves Subsidy Palliatives Implementation Committee, Two New Obas.


Ondo State Executive Council has announced the creation of 33 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs ) to take democratic government nearer to the people.

The State Commissioner of Information and Orientation, Yeye-Oba Bamidele Ademola-Olateju made the disclosure while briefing newsmen shortly after the State Executive Council meeting held at the Council Chamber, Governor’s Office, Alagbaka Akure on Thursday.

The Acting Governor, Hon Lucky Aiyedatiwa presided over the meeting.

Shedding more light on the 33 LCDAs at the press briefing, Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice, Sir Charles Titiloye explained that, in 2019, Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, CON acceded to people’s yearnings for expansion of democratic government by setting-up 11-member Committee to work out an acceptable strategies for the creation of LCDA, headed by Mr. Lanke Odogiyan Esq.

The Review Committee on Lanke Odogiyan’s committee’s report, recommended 33 additional LCDAs to be established in the State, in addition to the existing 18 Local Government Areas, he said.

The Attorney General further said that, “the procedure for Local Government creation will not be complete without an enabling law” .

“The Council received today, the proposed Bill for the establishment of the 33 LCDAs”.

“This proposed Bill was approved by the State Executive Council… and is to be send to the State House of Assembly for enactment into law, to give necessary legal backing” , he said.

He explained further that, the full implementation of the creation of the 33 LCDAs will commence after the passage of the law by the state House of Assembly and assented to by Mr Governor.

Speaking more on the 33 LCDAs, Titiloye explained that, the newly created LCDAs will have equal functions with their own Headquarters and operate side-by-side with the existing 18 Local Government Areas in the State.

Ondo State Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Alhaji Amidu Takuro also disclosed at the briefing that, Council approved Chief Bola Olusa as Olora of Ora, Ajowa-Akoko in Akoko North Local Government.

Takuro also said, approval was given by council for the appointment of Oba Temidayo Owoyele as the new Olikan of Etikan, Ilaje Local Government.

Equally according to the Commissioner, government approved Eight ( 8 ) Warrant Chiefs for the selection of the new Orungberunwa of Erinje, in Okitipupa Local Government and Two ( 2 ) Warrant Chiefs for the selection of the new Takute of Ipoke, in Ese-Odo Local Government.

Photo Credit: Abayomi Adefolalu.

About Editor

Check Also

Edun Commends Outgoing World Bank Country Director, Dr. Shubham Chaudhari, Lauds Organisation’s Impact On Nigeria Economy

  The Honourable Minister of Finance and Co-ordinating Minister of the Economy, Mr Wale Edun, …