Rivers:27 PDP Lawmakers Defect to APC


Members of Rivers State House of Assembly on Monday announced their defection from the Peoples Democratic Party to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The lawmakers who are 27 in number were elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and are loyal to the former governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike.

The members who are led by Martin Amaewhule, while announcing their defection cited crisis rocking the Peoples Democratic Party.

The crisis flared when Nyesom Wike was nominated and appointed Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, FCT by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu. Though, Wike was yet to officially defect to APC, his antics sold him out that he has long left the PDP which he contested presidency earlier this year.

Rivers State governor and successor to Nyesom Wike, Siminalayi Fubara has been having a running battle with the Assembly members due to his unwillingness to defect from PDP to APC which he has been threatened with impeachment

On Monday, December 11, the Rivers State lawmakers collectively passed a resolution denouncing the withholding of funds allocated for the management of the House of Assembly, according to reports.

During their session on Monday, the Rivers State House of Assembly also approved the Local Government (Amendment) Bill 2023 for Second Reading, alongside various other legislative tasks.



About Editor1

Check Also

Atiku To Tinubu You Are Still paying Subsidy And Lying To Nigerians

  The 2023 presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar, has tackled the Federal …